Tags

, , , , ,

“….I think a lot of things are odd….People tell me I’m very odd all the time.  I was tested once to see if I had Asperger’s Syndrome. dad says its for people who are smarter than the rest but can’t run straight…”
The best example of an Aspie i had seen in a movie. So right. As I was watching it Owen will tell me, that kid looks weird, and when i told him he has Asperger’s, he was like “oh”, like, now i get it….  this kid in the movie is so deep and so focused it astounds me, my kid is not as brave as him, or at least haven’t found himself wanting to do greater things. Not yet.
There’s a scene where he is in the middle of Brooklyn and he is scared and thinking out loud, screaming in his head, telling you, the viewer, all the things he is afraid of.  Almost everything that is out of his small space, his comfort zone.  He lost his dad, just like my kid did when he was one year old.  It was something he did not think of, or even registered until he was about 11 or 12.  And has been something he cannot take out of his head.  Some days he would ask me about his dad. He feels somehow proud when i tell him how much of a clone he is.
He never cries, practically never, until recently.  Once, some years ago, when he started analyzing his dad situation, he woke me up in the middle of the night, crying, inconsolable.  When I asked him what was wrong, he would say things like how he doesn’t want to grow up, because then I will become old and I would die.  We lost some family members and I lost a friend withing a year. But it wasn’t until our dog died last year that he really broke. He started crying inconsolable and telling me how I was the most important thing of his life and he was scared to lose me.  He started hitting his head as if it was the only way to get rid of those thoughts.  He has been obsessed on creating stories, about alternate realities, characters that are immortal, and of course, he loves Peter Pan!…..

i283163839571996950-_szw1280h1280_

